TRISTHANA important part of Ashtanga Yoga .


It’s important part of Ashtanga Yoga .

Tri means thee in Sanskrit; Sthana means standing place. The Tristhana are breathing , posture, and gazing point. These important places of action should always be observed and practiced simultaneously in asana practice.


All breathing should be done through the nose ONLY; breathing through the mouth weakens the heart. The inhalation and exhalation should be the same length and maintained throughout the practice. The breath should flow smoothly without breaks in between and with a low hissing sound in the base of the throat. Long, deep breathing activates the digestive fire that burns in the lower abdomen and helps to rid our bodies of toxins.
Postures should be done in a methodical manner with correct alignment and proper guidance from a guru following PARAMPARA. An asana should be perfected before starting the next one ;this way you slowly build strength , stability and health. Too many asanas too quickly will weaken the body. All asanas are connected to each other.
DRSTI means gazing point. There are nine drsti in the asana practice.if the drsti indicated for the asana is too difficult, one may always revert to nasagre drsti. With time and practice, the proper drsti for each posture will be possible. Drsti improves concentration and brings about a realization of oneness during the practice. With the gaze focused in one place during our practice, we can be more present in the postures. This focus and awareness can carry over into our daily life.
Urdhve drsti – up to space
drumadhye drsti – third eye
nasagre drsti – tip of the nose
parsvayoh drsti – right side
parsvayoh drsti – left side
nabhou drsti – navel
hastagre drsti – tip of the middle finger
angusthagre drsti – tip of the thumb
padagre drsti – tip of the big toe

Comments are closed